The present church was built in 1758 on the site of an earlier one. The tower was added in 1799. The O'Neill clan who arrived in the area about 1480 had built that earlier church. The church occupies a picturesque position, above a deep wooded glen - "The Poets' Glen" - beside the Creggan River. The graveyard was, and remains, shared by the main religious groups, who have maintained it faithfully in its present state, after a major restoration, for the last 30 years. An Ecumenical Service has been held annually since 1988.
The Graveyard is the final resting-place of three notable Gaelic Poets of the 18th Century; Art Mac Cooey, Padraig Mac Aliondain and Seamus Mor Mac Murphy (Poet and Outlaw). Two other Gaelic Poets are associated with the area; Peadar O Doirnan (Forkhill) and Seamus dall Mac Curta (Omeath).
The Creggan Visitors' Centre, in the grounds of the Church, houses an exhibition on "The Poets and People of Creggan", a combined production of the Creggan Hall Management Committee and the Creggan History Society as a cross community project.
Guided Tours are available every Sunday from June to September 3:00pm to 5:30pm (other times for organised parties by prior arrangement) - contact Mervyn Kingston - Tel. +353(0)429371921